A Day in the Life of a Teacher…

23 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of a Teacher…

    • Thank you so much for the kind words! I’m glad the point came through; I wasn’t sure if a “silent” statement would work. Many of the pictures are mine, and I have provided credits for the others.
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Laugh a little; learn a lot; live long!

  1. I liked your video. Well done. I think it made a great set of points, but it got me wondering. If the teachers aren’t interacting with the kids, who should be (just the computer?)?

    • You always leave with a great question!

      Online teachers are constantly interacting with the kids, just not in the same way as they do in a face-to-face class. I actually feel closer to many of my online students than I ever did face-to-face. We chat more online than we did face-to-face, because in the traditional classroom, teachers simply don’t have time to build personal rapport. I taught the students for a 45-minute slot of time, and only the vocal students really received my attention, because teaching the curriculum, covering all essential skills and maintaining discipline took the bulk of my teaching time. Good students or shy ones just did their time in the classroom, did their work, and went on to the next class without ever getting acquainted with me.

      Online classes provide a safety net for many students, and shy ones will open up because they feel a certain amount of safety in an online class that they don’t always feel in a traditional classroom. Many students are drawn to this “safety” of online classes because they have experienced difficulties in a traditional school. They make fast friends with classmates, and many have found global friendships, meaning they have found like-minded classmates that share their interests.

      So, I guess my point is, that while you may be concerned about students and teachers interacting, there is lots more of it going on in an online class than there would be face-to-face; at least, that’s been my experience!

      Thanks for stopping by…come back anytime!

      • Thanks for the explanation. It never occurred to me that there might be MORE interaction! Keep up the good work.

    • Thank you so much, Janet! I just used pictures I had or found and put them together in Windows MovieMaker. I taught myself the basics and voila! This is what happened!
      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Well aren’t you the video savvy blogger?! What a fun way to share “a day in the life.” The blog is looking terrific. Be sure and add your RSS subscription options soon so people can get signed up and receive your updates…they are worth subscribing to! Keep up the good work…

    • Thanks, Topsy! Your kind words mean a lot to me!

      I know I’m behind on the feeds and widgets, but I promise to catch up soon…

    • I haven’t created an About Me page specifically about me. Instead, it’s about the site…for now.
      Thanks for your kind words and thanks for stopping by!

  3. Very cute and funny. I too can appreciate the differences between “traditional” schooling versus online schooling, mainly because your day is very similar to ours as homeschoolers. We just plain get to take things a bit easier and focus on the guts of learning, rather than the back and forthing of travel, etc. Nice video!

    • Wow, thank you so much! I appreciate your comments because I hadn’t thought about my day being similar to a homeschooler’s, but it makes perfect sense! I love your expression, “focus on the guts of learning! That is exactly what we do as online teachers; thank you for sharing!

  4. Pingback: Friday Funnies « Virtual High School Meanderings

    • Hi Liz, My interest in teaching online grew out of my classroom experience of utilizing technology to teach writing at the elementary level. I was in a fifth grade public school classroom for twelve years. For nine of those twelve years, I taught writing exclusively to 100+ fifth graders. My students ranged from remedial to gifted, and all ranges in between. When technology first presented itself, I saw a new avenue for my writing classes, and as the writing teacher for the school, I required that my students use computers for writing and turning in notes and reports, communicating with one another and with me, conducting web research, and creating special presentations (such as with Publisher or PowerPoint). I also founded and sponsored a school newspaper, published entirely by fifth graders in my writing classes. At that time, a colleague was working part-time for University of Phoenix online, and she suggested I look into also teaching online. I found out that a Master’s would be required to teach online for a university, so that’s when I enrolled for my Master’s in Adult Education/Distance Learning. When I graduated, it took a couple years to find any actual online teaching jobs; however, they are much more plentiful now. Finding an online teaching job still requires some research and paperwork, but most schools have Job Opportunities listed somewhere on their website.

      I hope that helps!

      Take care,
      Viki

  5. I thought A Day in the Life of a Teacher was very engaging. This was a great digital story illustrating the events of a virtual teacher’s day. I recently created my first digital story. I find that using web 2.0 digital story telling can be very engaging and beneficial not just to the students but to the families as well. Parents want access to the stories and want to share them with neighbors and relatives. What’s great about having your class create a digital story is that the entire class can participate either by taking pictures, scripting, editing, or even searching for music to coincide with the project. This is a great way for teachers to get students involved in academic and seasonal projects.

  6. K12 online Teachers 3/09/2009
    https://k12onlineteachers.wordpress.com/2009/03/20/a-day-in-the-life-of-a-teacher/#comment-113

    I thought A Day in the Life of a Teacher was very engaging. This was a great digital story illustrating the events of a virtual teacher’s day. I recently created my first digital story. I find that using web 2.0 digital story telling can be very engaging and beneficial not just to the students but to the families as well. Parents want access to the stories and want to share them with neighbors and relatives. What’s great about having your class create a digital story is that the entire class can participate either by taking pictures, scripting, editing, or even searching for music to coincide with the project. This is a great way for teachers to get students involved in academic and seasonal projects.

    I am a teacher at The Pennsylvania Cyber Charter School, and currently enrolled in a masters program at Franciscan University in Steubenville, Ohio. I did not know just how technologically challenged I was until I started this course. This is definitely a foreign language to me…and I’m making baby steps….

    • Thanks for stopping by, and I appreciate the kind words. I notice you posted twice, and that’s probably because I have to approve the comments before they show up. I like that feature about WordPress because it sure cuts down on the spam!

      I’m curious about the course you mention; what course are you taking that has shown you how technologically challenged you are, and is that the reason you are visiting my blog? I ask because I teach a Developing 21st Century Skills class in a Master’s program, although Franciscan University is not one of our partners. In my class, students are required to comment on other blogs and begin their own.

      Or do you mean you feel challenged because of the course you are teaching at The Pennsylvania Cyber Charter School? At any rate, baby steps are the best way to go! Keep plodding along…you’ll get there!

      Viki
      Laugh a little, learn a lot, live long!

  7. “A Day in the Life” was very interesting and an outstanding way to allow others into the life of a teacher in general. I really think the presentation generates the a story behind the true life of an online instructor, demonstrating the wonderful opportunities we, as teachers, are given. I have read some of the other blogs from some of the former students for our Franciscan course and notice that they discuss the importance of the Digital Story. I agree with them that the digital story is a great way to allow for people to hear a story, whether through words or simply pictures. As an online instructor I feel that I still have a lot to learn when discussing the ideas of technology and the most difficult part of our job is keeping “up-to-date” considering technology moves a step forward each day!

  8. Nice comparison and great way to visit the “pro’s” of on-line teaching. I especially enjoy the flexibility off this profession and the wonderful way technology allows us to bring instruction into the living rooms of diverse students. Thanks for the great digital story and entertaining the thought that on-line teaching is the way to go! I am very anxious to become a on-line teacher someday and I love your insight on how to reach out to students….Job nicely done.

Leave a Reply

